collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: SD Trip and Transportation ?  (Read 4271 times)

Offline ST42

• Trade Count: (+1)
  • Pilgrim
  • Groups: NRA, TRRC, Delta Waterfowl, DU
SD Trip and Transportation ?
« on: October 24, 2017, 08:20:54 AM »
Hi All,

I’m about to leave for South Dakota for a Pheasant hunting trip. While I was at work yesterday I was talking with a guy who said he was ticketed for improper transportation of his Pheasants and Sharpies because he processed them himself at his motel. He said that they must be brought back to WA with one of the following attached, Fully Feathered Head, one wing, or only leg attached to the bird. He cleaned and vacuum packed his birds himself, and to be honest, this is exactly what I have been doing for better than 15 years. I did consult the SD Regs. And it does state those requirements for transporting.

So I am writing to get a few suggestions as to how or what method you traveling bird hunters use / prefer to bring your birds back home. My trip will be a total of 10 days long and I am planning on hunting my way back home through North Dakota, and Montana. The vacuum packing and freezing works so well I am thinking about just vacuum packing the leg in with the bird. So, what say you? How do you all do it?

Offline bigtex

• Non-Hunting Topics
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Explorer
Re: SD Trip and Transportation ?
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2017, 08:35:38 AM »
Your buddy is partly correct, it sounds like he is relying on the SD law. The problem is each state has a different law. So if you leave just a leg in, once you hit WA you'll be in violation. WA requires the head (not a wing, or a leg) to be attached. My suggestion? Leave the head attached..

Offline jagermiester

• Longhunter
  • My family is my life
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2017, 09:55:48 AM »
How much is the fine?