collapse

Author Topic: Primos Truthcam35 error code...  (Read 762 times)

Offline Blacktail Sniper

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Frontiersman
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2009
  • Posts: 4773
  • Location: Rochester, Washington
  • Kill'em all...let the gravy sort'em out!!!
Primos Truthcam35 error code...
« on: November 05, 2017, 04:08:55 PM »
Recently, after having it set on the edge of the property, when I pulled it on Oct 17th I believe, I noticed there had not been any pictures for about the previous 24 hours.

Went to reset and got an error code "SDFUL" which is supposed to mean the card is full, but wasn't the case.  Primos customer service had me try a couple things, but didn't work at the time.

Online research said this was a fairly common software/hardware issue with this model and pretty much nothing easy or worth it to fix if out of warranty.

Fast forward to last night.  Decided to try one more time and it worked!  Tested three different batches of 5 pictures and performed as always.   :dunno:

Anybody ever have this issue pop-up in the past? 

Did you get it repaired or just toss it?

Since this is about an 8 year old camera (but has only a few months actual use), it was well out of warranty, but it is working now, just don't know if it is trustworthy or not?

If you had yours start working again, how has it been since?

Thanks!
It is better to be consistently incorrect than inconsistently correct...

Sarcasm: The ability to insult stupid people without them realizing it. 

My level of sarcasm depends on your level of stupidity...

Sarcasm makes smart people laugh and stupid people mad.

Offline luvmystang67

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Sourdough
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2010
  • Posts: 1549
  • Location: Snohomish
Re: Primos Truthcam35 error code...
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2017, 04:36:28 AM »
Not trustworthy, it'll break again.  Sorry.  I had one replaced under warranty and the new one broke.  I got rid of all of my truth cams after this happened to about half of them.

Offline Skyvalhunter

  • Washington For Wildlife
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Explorer
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2007
  • Posts: 11634
  • Location: The valley
Re: Primos Truthcam35 error code...
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2017, 06:17:13 AM »
Yea that's a typical error with those primos cams when the card reader goes bad.

Offline Blacktail Sniper

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Frontiersman
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2009
  • Posts: 4773
  • Location: Rochester, Washington
  • Kill'em all...let the gravy sort'em out!!!
Re: Primos Truthcam35 error code...
« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2017, 07:47:04 AM »
I figured it was shot, but was surprized when it started working again. 

Tested it again last night and still worked just like it was supposed to...

Guess I will just keep it for around the property or if I want to hang in a risky spot, that way, worse case really is just the loss of an SD card if it walks away!

Thanks!!

It is better to be consistently incorrect than inconsistently correct...

Sarcasm: The ability to insult stupid people without them realizing it. 

My level of sarcasm depends on your level of stupidity...

Sarcasm makes smart people laugh and stupid people mad.

Offline luvmystang67

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Sourdough
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2010
  • Posts: 1549
  • Location: Snohomish
Re: Primos Truthcam35 error code...
« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2017, 07:32:33 AM »
Itll work for a few days and then quit.

Offline Blacktail Sniper

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Frontiersman
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2009
  • Posts: 4773
  • Location: Rochester, Washington
  • Kill'em all...let the gravy sort'em out!!!
Re: Primos Truthcam35 error code...
« Reply #5 on: November 07, 2017, 09:10:09 AM »
Yeah, figured I would get what I could out of, if anything, before trashing it.
It is better to be consistently incorrect than inconsistently correct...

Sarcasm: The ability to insult stupid people without them realizing it. 

My level of sarcasm depends on your level of stupidity...

Sarcasm makes smart people laugh and stupid people mad.

Offline JDHasty

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Old Salt
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2015
  • Posts: 6777
  • Location: Tacoma
  • Groups: NRA Benefactor Member, GOA Life Member, Father of 3 NRA Life Members
Re: Primos Truthcam35 error code...
« Reply #6 on: November 07, 2017, 09:26:41 AM »
I had two of them.  Absolute junk. 

Normally Primos gear works, these things were worse than useless.  They offered me two new Primos cams at half off retail.  Hell I could buy them for less than that by walking into Bass Pro or Cabelas and not have to pay shipping on them. 

I am going to get something else after doing a bit of research.  I know a guy who likes SpyPoint, but he hunts central and eastern WA, not the wet west side.  So I am not so sure his experience would relate to my needs. 

Offline Blacktail Sniper

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Frontiersman
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2009
  • Posts: 4773
  • Location: Rochester, Washington
  • Kill'em all...let the gravy sort'em out!!!
Re: Primos Truthcam35 error code...
« Reply #7 on: November 07, 2017, 09:50:17 AM »
They offered me the 50% off deal as well, when I told them I was just going to switch to another brand, they tossed another 20% off the half-price total.

I didn't follow through with it either.
It is better to be consistently incorrect than inconsistently correct...

Sarcasm: The ability to insult stupid people without them realizing it. 

My level of sarcasm depends on your level of stupidity...

Sarcasm makes smart people laugh and stupid people mad.

Offline luvmystang67

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Sourdough
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2010
  • Posts: 1549
  • Location: Snohomish
Re: Primos Truthcam35 error code...
« Reply #8 on: November 08, 2017, 02:12:14 AM »
They offered me the 50% off deal as well, when I told them I was just going to switch to another brand, they tossed another 20% off the half-price total.

I didn't follow through with it either.

I moved to bushnell, haven't been disappointed yet.  I have a small fleet.  Got a bunch of 6MP ones on amazon for like $90 each about 3 years ago, they still work great.

Offline Jim/WA

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Pilgrim
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Posts: 36
  • Location: Vancouver
Re: Primos Truthcam35 error code...
« Reply #9 on: November 08, 2017, 05:55:47 AM »
I've still got 2 of them that I've had for several years. They work fine for me but I only use them in places where I think there is a higher chance of having a cam stolen. I had a similar problem with one of mine after I took the card out to view the pics in my nikon DSLR. Something changed with the formatting. Now I always reformat my SD card before putting it back in the camera (I do this with all cards, all cameras) and have never had a problem since.

Offline grousetracker

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Scout
  • ****
  • Join Date: Jul 2009
  • Posts: 441
  • Location: centralia
Re: Primos Truthcam35 error code...
« Reply #10 on: November 08, 2017, 06:14:05 AM »
the cam is trying to reformat the sd card, and codes put in another type of sd card then back to original. had it happen several times went to 2gb cards and never an issue

Offline huntingfool7

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Sourdough
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2009
  • Posts: 1431
  • Location: Puyallup, WA
  • Groups: huntingfool7
Re: Primos Truthcam35 error code...
« Reply #11 on: November 08, 2017, 06:17:43 AM »
https://www.natchezss.com/bushnell-trophy-cam-hd-aggressor-low-glow-trail-camera-realtree-xtra-14mp.html

$125.  + 10% off today with TURKEY10 code.  Better off with one Bushnell than 3 Primos junk cams.

Offline Blacktail Sniper

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Frontiersman
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2009
  • Posts: 4773
  • Location: Rochester, Washington
  • Kill'em all...let the gravy sort'em out!!!
Re: Primos Truthcam35 error code...
« Reply #12 on: November 08, 2017, 06:25:57 AM »
the cam is trying to reformat the sd card, and codes put in another type of sd card then back to original. had it happen several times went to 2gb cards and never an issue

Been using a 2gb card since I got the cam.

Just going to keep for fair weather around the property.  See how long it lasts and if it dies completely, nothing lost really.
It is better to be consistently incorrect than inconsistently correct...

Sarcasm: The ability to insult stupid people without them realizing it. 

My level of sarcasm depends on your level of stupidity...

Sarcasm makes smart people laugh and stupid people mad.

Offline Blacktail Sniper

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Frontiersman
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2009
  • Posts: 4773
  • Location: Rochester, Washington
  • Kill'em all...let the gravy sort'em out!!!
Re: Primos Truthcam35 error code...
« Reply #13 on: November 08, 2017, 06:32:54 AM »
https://www.natchezss.com/bushnell-trophy-cam-hd-aggressor-low-glow-trail-camera-realtree-xtra-14mp.html

$125.  + 10% off today with TURKEY10 code.  Better off with one Bushnell than 3 Primos junk cams.

Thanks  :tup:

Done with Primos cams, this was the only one I have and got a few years use out of it, so no big deal really.

That Bushnell is nice, but I just can't justify leaving that much "money" hanging out in the woods where it might walk off.

Just watching the upcoming holiday sales for cameras around the $100.00 and under mark after taxes.
It is better to be consistently incorrect than inconsistently correct...

Sarcasm: The ability to insult stupid people without them realizing it. 

My level of sarcasm depends on your level of stupidity...

Sarcasm makes smart people laugh and stupid people mad.

Offline JDHasty

  • Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Old Salt
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2015
  • Posts: 6777
  • Location: Tacoma
  • Groups: NRA Benefactor Member, GOA Life Member, Father of 3 NRA Life Members
Re: Primos Truthcam35 error code...
« Reply #14 on: November 08, 2017, 07:58:40 AM »
Have you guys who have been happy using the Bushnell cams been using them on the west side in the rain? 

 

* Recent Topics

Parker lake! by 3dvapor
[Today at 12:47:01 PM]


Western Washington NWTF Jakes Day by Russ McDonald
[Today at 12:18:22 PM]


FS: Sig Sauer Zulu 7 10x42 by huntnfmly
[Today at 12:17:34 PM]


West Klickitat Muzzy Buck permit by gee_unit360
[Today at 12:07:07 PM]


Drew unit 224 Quality by jager
[Today at 12:05:03 PM]


WTS: Vanguard Abeo 243AV Tripod by johns8168
[Today at 12:04:46 PM]


Slide Ridge Late Mule deer tag by muleracks
[Today at 12:02:17 PM]


338 375 ruger build by jasnt
[Today at 11:57:38 AM]


Observatory Archery Quality Elk by elkchaser54
[Today at 11:34:03 AM]


Cow tag by elkchaser54
[Today at 11:31:50 AM]


White river archery elk tag 653 by lewy
[Today at 11:00:26 AM]


GMU 520 Winston Muzzleloader Cow Tag by Jon Boquist
[Today at 10:48:50 AM]


WTS: Vortex Viper PST Gen II 5-25x50 by Antlershed
[Today at 10:33:35 AM]


Wyoming Results! by Miles
[Today at 10:28:28 AM]


Upcoming season by crabcreekhunter
[Today at 10:14:52 AM]


Goose Prairie archery tag. Got drawn. by hogslayer
[Today at 09:50:53 AM]


Diesel fuel additives by Mudman
[Today at 09:39:06 AM]


FS 9.3 X 62 by kisfish
[Today at 09:21:54 AM]


Another Desert Tag! by ELKBURGER
[Today at 09:20:08 AM]


Drew bumping river goat tag by Romulus
[Today at 09:19:13 AM]