collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: Need tips for finding private land in SW Washington  (Read 1865 times)

Offline Ajj828

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Hunter
Need tips for finding private land in SW Washington
« on: December 25, 2017, 05:37:11 PM »
So I've been getting into more into waterfowl hunting and I'm looking to find some private land to hunt in the la center-ridgefied area. I already know of pretty much every public land honey hole but I have been tired of hunting the same spots every single year. Basically I'm a college student who can't afford to pay for a lease but I really want to hunt private land because I want to  hunt geese (this is my first year hunting them). I'm the only one in my family who hunts which doesn't help because I have no connections. What are some things I can do to try and hunt private land without paying lots of money? I'm planning on just asking some farmers around the area if I can hunt. The worst they can say is no. I'd even be willing to work for them if they needed help with their land. I'm pretty responsible and always pick up my trash when I'm done hunting. I've looked online for private land hunting opportunities but cannot find anything. For all of you who hunt private land what suggestions do you have for me?

Offline AWS

• Trade Count: (+2)
  • Sourdough
Re: Need tips for finding private land in SW Washington
« Reply #1 on: December 25, 2017, 09:51:44 PM »
Drive around and find good looking hunting places, mark them on a map and then go to the county assessors land owner record and find out who owns the land and try and make contact.   I do a lot of out of state hunting and this is something I do. 

Once you have one place that will let you on and you make a good impression, then you have a reference you can use and it gets easier.  Knocking on doors without research can be tough as many farms are owned by someone that doesn't live there and rents the house or has sold the just the home place and rents the land out.