collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: Pheasant release sites  (Read 2496 times)

Offline slowhand

• Trade Count: (+3)
  • Longhunter
  • Seahawk fan for life
Pheasant release sites
« on: December 28, 2017, 03:31:32 PM »
I'm considering hunting the west side Pheasant release sites this year with My two boys 16 and 14. Please fill Me in as I have no experience with this type of hunting.
The good the Bad?
Suggestions?
I think I will try for the Kosmos site as I know the area and hear is is less crowded. I also have a rookie dog that I would be bringing with.
Any info would be helpful. Thanks
Seahawks
Hunting
Fishing
In That order

Online Mfowl

• Political & Covid-19 Topics
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Frontiersman
Re: Pheasant release sites
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2017, 03:57:06 PM »
I believe the Westside Pheasant Realease season is over on Nov 30th. You can still hunt the sites but they stop releasing birds after Nov 30th. Also you need the Westside Pheasant Endorsement for these sites, no Reas n the buy it if they aren't releasing anymore birds.  :twocents:
Fish hard, hunt harder!

Offline Bullkllr

• Political & Covid-19 Topics
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Frontiersman
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2017, 04:00:05 PM »
It's over for this year. Most of the sites closed Nov. 30. Some stay open until Dec. 15. Last plants are on Thanksgiving weekend, so any remaining time after that is for "clean-up".

East-side is open for pheas until Jan. 15.

For future considerations:

Good:
you get to hunt pheasants
my dog likes it
it can be productive

Bad:
can be crowded at 8:00am when birds have been planted
sometimes all of the birds are planted in a very small area
birds can be very dumb

Advice:
Just like anything else there is a learning curve. It's a different kind of game- and not for everyone.