Recent Posts

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 10
Other Big Game / Re: Field judging Antelope?
« Last post by DOUBLELUNG on Today at 05:19:22 PM »
I have some experience.  The article is spot on with regard to mass>prong>length, although if you are shooting for the record book all three are important.  One place I will take exception to the author is the contention that "most" trophy antelope have 15-16" horn length; my experience is most book antelope are 14-15", and I've seen book antelope as short as 12 1/2".  I've also seen antelope over 16" that are shy of the mark (even one 18").  There is more to antelope hunting than trying to get into the book, but most of the rest of what I have to say is about inches.

It is very important to get a view of the horns from the side and straight on to judge mass.  Some horns are wide from the side but narrow straight on, others are much rounder.  A pronghorn's eye socket is about 1.5", a horn base seen from the side should be noticeably wider than the eye socket, and at least as wide as the eye socket straight on.  This is your most important measurement, it is rare that a buck with heavy bases won't score well.  Be cautious of a buck that appears to flare up from the base, they look really big at first glance but if the 1st quarter is heavier than the base it is usually because growth slowed.  Antelope horns grow from top down, the base is the last part to grow.