collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: Blacktail question?  (Read 6169 times)

Offline Coasthunterjay

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Sourdough
Blacktail question?
« on: August 25, 2008, 12:35:28 PM »
does anyone know when they go in rut? Compared to Mule deer and whitetails what do they act like the most.....

for the successful hunters out there, how do ou hunt a black tail?

havent done alot of BT hunting and am interested in learning more.....

Offline Antlershed

• Trade Count: (+8)
  • Frontiersman
Re: Blacktail question?
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2008, 01:33:08 PM »
I'm no expert, but from what I have seen, it can vary from year to year. Sometimes they will go into rut during the general modern firearm season, and other years it seems like not until the late modern firearm season.

Offline Coasthunterjay

• Sourdough
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2008, 01:35:54 PM »
does anyone know about horn growth and size growth by age for BT?

just wanting to know how old a good size full 4x4 bt would be?

and what a 2x2 would be?

kind of seems like BT horns dont grow like WT or nule deer.....

Offline billythekidrock

• Varmint
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Explorer
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2008, 04:26:54 PM »
My experience has led me to believe that the pre-rut is the time to hunt and it can hit about the second week of the season to the end of Oct. The late buck hunt in Nov is good, but alot of the big bucks are locked down with does.

Keep glassing those thick cuts for bears and you should find some bruiser BTs.

There is no way to age a deer by it's rack. A mature buck will be 3 to 4 pts. A forkie could be 1-3 years old. A lot of it depends on genetics, feed, location, etc.

Offline Coasthunterjay

• Sourdough
« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2008, 04:34:50 PM »