collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: Bear Down  (Read 4649 times)

Offline Wazzu

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Pilgrim
Bear Down
« on: August 25, 2008, 09:57:07 PM »
This is my first year bear hunting. A couple of friends and I have been prepping for this all year.

Opening day came and we headed up high into Snoqualmie Pass. I think we went a bit too high, though. Between 4 of us we didnt see any bears or any sign. I found a cool little lake that I would like to go back and flyfish, though.

I was laying around on Saturday when a coworker called to compare opening day details. He hadnt seen much either. He suggested that we go out that afternoon. He picked me up and we thought about Stossel Creek, Stampede Pass, but ultimately headed up Highway 2. I dont want to get too specific with the location, a friend of his sort of regards it as his area.

We pulled off the highway and made our way back into the woods. He was describing to me the ideal conditions, and what to look for. Not even 5 minutes into it, I pointed out several bears on the hill! He couldnt believe it, I dont think he did until he looked throught the binoculars himself. He threw the truck into park and it was a mad dash. I didnt even have my boots on. I grabbed his 7mm ( my 30-06 still doesnt have a scope) and ran into the brush.

There were a total of 3 bears up there, one was much larger than the other two, but he ducked off before I could scope him. We estimated it about a 350 yd. shot, up a steep hill. This is sort of out of my comfort range, but it was do or die time. I crouched down and popped off a shot, clean miss. The bear didnt hardly flinch. It slowly walked to the left and went behind some brush. I kept on the area and the bear came back into view. I let off another shot and the bear took off, I was sure I had hit it. I watched it go up the hill, slow down, then eventually go down behind a stump. I started to call for my buddy to get a shot at the other bear, but they soon dissapered.