collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: New Black and Tan  (Read 4401 times)

Offline Jonathan_S

• Trade Count: (+6)
  • Old Salt
  • Volleyfire Brigade, Cryder apologist
New Black and Tan
« on: May 05, 2013, 01:48:54 PM »
Hey Folks,
We're the proud owners of a three-month old black and tan pup.  He's a big strong dog and I am starting his training ASAP.

I don't see a lot of info on this breed on this site, anybody have experience with them?  He'll be hunting by himself most of the time once trained and I want to maximize his potential.

What's a good age to start running with other hounds?

Kindly do not attempt to cloud the issue with too many facts.

Offline Huntin Hounds

• Political & Covid-19 Topics
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hunter
Re: New Black and Tan
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2013, 04:22:41 PM »
I have very little experience with black and tans but they are just like any other hound. You will want to socialize the dog with as many other dogs as you can. Start that right now. Next you wont need to do much training for the hunting aspect until he is a little older. You can start by dragging a hot dog trail for him to follow. When he finds the hot dog let him have it as a reward. Don't over due the training. You can burn a pup out on it. I know it's really exciting to see a you dog start to figure it out but watch doing it to much. The training that is most important right now is handling. A good handling dog is a pleasure to hunt. I don't think I can emphasize that enough. Teach him to come when called, Load in your vehicle on command and walking on a leash without ripping your arm off. These are the basics and you can expand from there. Hounds are extremely intelligent dogs and are also very stubborn. Get a Shock collar for him. I recommend the tri-tronics classic 70. You will want one with a mile range so when he starts a deer race you can stop it. Don't over due the shock collar either. Let him learn to run good game before you brake him from off game. What a