collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: Multi Season Deer Tag "Muzzleloader"  (Read 4059 times)

Offline GameHunter1959

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Longhunter
Multi Season Deer Tag "Muzzleloader"
« on: June 16, 2014, 12:29:17 AM »
I bought my Multi Season Deer tag, and would like to try and kill a deer with a Muzzleloader. I have ZERO knowledge. I have never shot one before.

Can anyone give me some advice on, which gun to purchase, the loads, etc. ?

I typically purchase top of the line or close to it. I have an above average budget to put towards the purchase.

Offline usmc74

• Non-Hunting Topics
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Sourdough
  • Groups: NRA (Life), RMEF, SAF (Life), American Legion (Life), Master Hunter
Re: Multi Season Deer Tag "Muzzleloader"
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2014, 05:08:51 AM »
I'm partial to Knight (have 2 Bighorns)

Which ever one you choose, make sure it is NW legal

I'm sure Sabotloader will chime in soon.
« Last Edit: June 16, 2014, 11:18:28 AM by usmc74 »

Online Bob33

• Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Legend
  • Groups: SCI, RMEF, NRA, Hunter Education
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2014, 06:25:19 AM »
If money is no object get a Knight Ultralite and Williams front and rear sights.
Nature. It's cheaper than therapy.

Offline HntnFsh

• Washington For Wildlife
  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Old Salt
« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2014, 08:50:46 AM »
 I put peeps on my Bighorn last year. For me they felt great when I was target shooting. But I was really frustrated with them when hunting the brush. They just hid too much of the animal and or surrounding area.

On 1 hunt last year pulled up on elk 3 times and had to forego the shot because of this. I feel that with regular open sights I could have taken any of those 3 shots. Taking the peeps of and going back to open sights this year.

I will be putting the peeps up for sale later on. They are Knight stainless. But I think they are exactly the same as the Williams peep sight.

Offline Whitpirate