collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: Hiking out at night.  (Read 35321 times)

Offline Hectocotylus

• Trade Count: (+1)
  • Hunter
Hiking out at night.
« on: August 17, 2015, 11:04:15 PM »
This is my first year big game hunting, any tips to make a possible later night walk out more fun or safer? Did one evening hunt already and navigation sure goes to crap when it gets dark can't imagine being on a not well defined trail in those circumstances. Head lamps are obvious but they don't fix all the problems. Looking for perspectives or stories about the bear that ate you when it got dark.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline JimmyHoffa

• Non-Hunting Topics
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Explorer
Re: Hiking out at night.
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2015, 11:12:02 PM »
Have some flagging or a marker along the trail if you're concerned with the navigation.  For safety, attach the headlamp lower like your belt or just carry in your hand.  It will throw the shadows better, like the difference in tracking in the morning/evening vs tracking at noon.

Offline HUNTaHOLIC5

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Scout
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2015, 11:36:03 PM »
Be sure to look out ahead of you aways and not just right in front of your feet. It's not a fun moment to realize you just about stepped off a cliff  :yike:. Some of my most memorable and fun times are packing out animals in the dark.

Offline Bean Counter

• Site Sponsor
  • Non-Hunting Topics
  • Explorer
« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2015, 12:12:48 AM »
I wind up out after dark all the time. I'll have 3-4 flashlights. 2 is NOT enough. Extra batteries for your GPS, and. Game plan with your family.

Offline Firedogg

• Past Sponsor
  • Longhunter
« Reply #4 on: August 18, 2015, 12:27:22 AM »