collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: How "still" should one be when on a coyote stand?  (Read 3739 times)

Offline ivarhusa

• Ivar Husa
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Scout
  • Believing is easier than thinking.
    • Ivar's Family Web Pages
How "still" should one be when on a coyote stand?
« on: January 14, 2009, 10:59:25 AM »
I am new to the sport, but have been enjoying less-than-desired success in the field. Some of it is attributable to hunting public lands with lots of pressure (mostly bird hunters this month), and having found places to hunt that probably don't hold a lot of 'yotes (absent water, cover, etc).

But I am examining my technique, to improve my chances. I was rereading Simonski's book Coyote Hunting, and noted that the "ideal hunting partner is as still as a dead mouse.". He also advocates pre-placing ones rifle in shooting position on the 'sticks', with rifle butt against the shoulder.  A reasonable argument is made that lifting a rifle spooks the critter, if he is looking your direction.

I will allow that "one can never be still enough", and must avoid fidgeting, rotating ones head, or any other rapid movement, but I have a few questions for those who have shot a few coyotes.

My biggest concern is what to be doing, or NOT doing, before one spots a coyote.

Do you keep your rifle at your shoulder when calling?

Do you use binoculars, and if so, do you use any precautions to avoid detection when raising and scanning?

Do you raise a call to your lips, if you have a coyote in view and he is looking your direction?

I expect you guys will come up with some other guidance along these lines.  How still is "still enough"?

Thanks in advance.

Ivar (looking for my second coyote)
Live all you can: It’s a mistake not to.

Offline demontang

• Frontiersman
Re: How "still" should one be when on a coyote stand?
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2009, 11:37:23 AM »