collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: Google Earth  (Read 17717 times)

Offline 68w

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Tracker
    • https://www.facebook.com/pacificnwguy/
    • Pacificnwguy
  • Groups: NRA, RMEF, MDF
Google Earth
« on: January 11, 2016, 07:00:35 PM »
Any of you use Google earth to do some pre season scouting? 

I'm new to hunting mule deer, last year was the first time and now I'm hooked.  Was up in the NE corner Saw lots of mulies,  lots of fork horns and does, hiked a lot of country. Even found a moose shed (3rd pic) Didn't harvest a mule deer, but I am going to make it happen this year.

Last year  Area was really think, so I'm trying to locate some spots to scout come Spring that will allow me to get deep 5 miles or so, and be able to glass.

Hopefully I'll  draw multi season, so I'm Looking to do the early high buck hunt. My question is what do you look for on Google earth?  What makes an area look "bucky" to you from a satellite view?  Any tips?  Everything I've seen online is more oriented towards whitetail stand hunting,  I'm looking to be able to spot and stalk.

Anyone wants to PM me a sample screenshot of an example to what I should be looking for would be great.  Doesn't have to be from this state.  I've got a few spots marked up on google that I'm looking to scout.  I'll post a few screenshots up later to see if I am on the right track.

Few pics from last year.

5th pic down.... How many deer? :)

« Last Edit: January 11, 2016, 07:24:52 PM by 68w »

Offline Little Dave

• Washington For Wildlife
  • Sourdough
Re: Google Earth
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2016, 11:13:38 PM »
Something like this:

Offline TommyH

• Political & Covid-19 Topics
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Sourdough
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2016, 05:21:28 AM »
Google earth is great, but doesn't show you water. My topo, g4 maps and others show other useful info as well. I have one loaded on with google so I can zoom into an area and toggle between them.

Offline Skyvalhunter