collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: Scouting Questions  (Read 5562 times)

Offline police women of America

• Women's Board
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Longhunter
  • Groups: NRA
Scouting Questions
« on: July 09, 2016, 10:02:22 PM »
So today I got my first feel of hunting fever. Which tells me it's coming closer to hunting season and I better start studying. I'm very new to scouting, so I'd appreciate any advice. First question, do I scout if I already have a spot picked out? We have a nice spot from one of my dad's friends. We saw a nice 2pt buck last year but he escaped thru the trees before I could get him.
Question two, when to scout? I hunt modern firearm so hunting starts Oct. 15th for me, so should I go a couple weeks before or way before hunting starts?
Thanks for any advice! P.S. I will be hunting blacktail on the west side
Hi, my name is Josie

Offline JakeLand

• WA State Trappers Association
  • Trade Count: (+27)
  • Frontiersman
Re: Scouting Questions
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2016, 10:53:37 PM »
To be honest the best time to scout is right after the season is over when they are in the peak of the rut first 2 weeks of November! But that's past so if I'm looking at a new area I would be looking all year for rub lines,beds and just looking at travel patterns, like when you see deer either bucks or does watch where they go and what they are doing because bucks will come to where does hang out.
  Now if you have a area get very familiar with that area now for the next couple
Months see where the beds are ,escape routes,feeding areas and look for pinch points where they would get funneled through. Maybe put in treestand or blinds if you choose ( tree stands work great for blacktails)
  So for the short yes go learn your hunting area very very well and get that area prepared for hunting season well ahead of time . Hopefully this helps

Offline Eric M

• Sourdough
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2016, 01:15:28 AM »