collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: Pretty New but saw my 1st black bear on the second day  (Read 6729 times)

Offline Psychokiller888

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Tracker
Pretty New but saw my 1st black bear on the second day
« on: August 10, 2016, 12:14:24 PM »
Been doing some after work hunting as this is only my second year I am still learning from a good friend. I went strait from work to hunt. Heard branches snap for about 30 min when I saw a large black head pop out of the tall grass from the tree line. I already had my gun raised seeing a black dot in the distance in a yellow field was hard to miss. I hesitated with my friend closed by so I motioned to him that I saw a bear. He spotted him out and confirmed it was a bear. Said he would take the shot as he was unsure of the scope sighting on my gun and I would follow him up. Perfect positioning of the bears side and aimed center pulling the trigger. The bear ran to the right the direction of my friend so I did not fire the second shot. Then the bear turned around and ran back to the left were I was unable to spot him through the scope.

Scouted the area and found no blood. was pretty sad as I saw the bear perfect but didn't want to fail the shot or shoot my partner which he was glad for. Don't know how he missed nor does he as he felt it was a beautiful shot about 100 yds.

What I learned from this though is I should remember land marks from where I am sitting so I know were to scout when I get down there. the tall grass kind of made me wander a lot as I was unsure where the bear was at. and Always make sure your gun is sighted.

Anyone have any advice? Will the bear come back to that area?
« Last Edit: August 12, 2016, 08:06:36 AM by Psychokiller888 »

Offline huntingaddiction

• Sasquatch
  • Scout
  • Eat, Sleep, Hunt!
Re: Pretty New but saw my 1st black bear on the second day
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2016, 12:25:45 PM »