collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: Shooting at deer downhill question  (Read 9102 times)

Offline Ajj828

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Hunter
Shooting at deer downhill question
« on: May 06, 2017, 02:57:08 PM »
Where I hunt it's very steep and hilly there is almost no area with flat ground. I sighted in my rifle at roughly 70 yards (I plan to go to a range before hunting season and make sure it truly is a 100 yard zero). I'm assuming most of my shots will be at a good steep angle either downhill or up hill. When shooting uphill and down hill do you have to hold your crosshairs high or low? Or do you just aim exactly where you want to hit the deer? Is it true that shooting downhill makes a flatter shot? This is my first year using a rifle so I'm not sure how rifles really shoot when it comes to elevation. I plan on going out and shooting on steep areas to test later in the summer.

Offline ghosthunter

• Political & Covid-19 Topics
  • Trade Count: (+19)
  • Old Salt
Re: Shooting at deer downhill question
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2017, 03:12:44 PM »
Under 100 yards the adjustment is minimal. Just aim a little low. Up or down.

Over 100 yards a little more calculation is involved,depending on bullet and load.
There is no replacement for actual practice.

Read here.

http://millettsights.com/downloads/ShootingUphillAndDownhill.pdf

GHOST CAMP "We Came To Hunt"
Proud Parent of A United States Marine

We are all traveling from Birth to the Packing House. ( Broken Trail)

“I f he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat.” ― Theodore Roosevelt

Offline dreamunelk

• Sourdough
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2017, 03:45:53 PM »
What caliber?  Scope?  You may want to consider a 200 yard zero.  What distances do you think you will be shooting?

http://www.chuckhawks.com/shooting_uphill.htm

Do a search on sighting in.  Lots of info out there.