collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: Savage DOA hunter .308 win  (Read 1890 times)

Offline Scheindogg

• Political & Covid-19 Topics
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Longhunter
Savage DOA hunter .308 win
« on: April 09, 2017, 08:45:21 PM »
Finally took out my new gun! Savage DOA hunter .308 win (comes equipped with bushnell trophy 3-9x40 scope!!

So this is my first time shooting a rifle other than a 22 lr in Boy Scout camp about 12 years ago.

It came boresighted which I thought meant paper at 100yds but unfortunately bullet holes were nowhere to be found on the paper after 8 rounds. I felt terrible. I had a feeling it was hitting low because there was some larger bullet holes below the paper on the cardboard that I couldn't recall if they were there before I started shooting.
(Later I found out it was shooting low so I believe all my shots were on the cardboard below the target)
I wasn't sure if it's because I'm a terrible shot or because it wasn't properly bore sighted.

Then I moved it to 50 yards and ended up shootin 4 rounds to start. Just as I predicted they were all low! The very first one hit the bottom section of the target and the other 3 were on the bottom section of the paper but not on the target part of the paper.
Here's where my mistake came, I figured ok it needs to be adjusted higher( it was several inches low) so I had never adjusted a scope before and dumbly adjusted the windage 2 clicks. Shot 4 more rounds and my shot placement was similar as before. Bottom middle of target or slightly below the paper (although now it was slightly to the left).
I figured I had just not adjusted it up enough so i did 4 more clicks (of what I THOUGHT was elavation) and then shot 2 more rounds. These were not found on the paper and were maybe on the cardboard but I didn't take the time to decipher where it could have been.
Unfortunately after that was a cease fire and the range closed for the night.