collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: GMU 231 (or maybe 218 or 233)  (Read 6427 times)

Offline TenkaraTim

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Pilgrim
    • https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=686202529
  • Groups: PF, RMEF, MDF, NWTF, TU, TRCP
GMU 231 (or maybe 218 or 233)
« on: August 15, 2017, 07:22:57 PM »
I am fairly new to big game hunting being mostly a bird hunter and last year got very lucky with a good tag in ID where I got to see literally hundreds of deer and pull off a classic spot and stalk to get my first buck after striking out on blacktails here on the wet-side during early muzzleloader season.  This year I have access to a cabin in Mazama anytime during the season so thought it could be a good place to go since I seem to see deer everywhere in the Methow and a few hundred are slammed on Hwy 20 alone each year.   I had hoped to go up during early muzzleloader season since early modern butts up to a trip to CO for elk, I have a multi-season tag so can hit it whenever.   

I just got back from a 3-day scouting trip to GMU 231 since that is the only unit open during muzzleloader and I was a bit disappointed to say the least.   I saw two does up in the National Forest lands only and I was up off Virginia Ridge, Thompson Ridge and Little Bridge Creek as well as wandering around the Big Valley Wildlife Area which I see could have potential if I had the time to set some trail cams to figure out the deer there.  I didn't just cruise the road, but put on about 15 miles hiking on trails and up and down ridges.  The best news was that my dog found grouse.   Of course close to town I almost ran over several deer,  got about 15 yards from a nice buck on the private land where I was staying and probably saw two dozen does.