collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: Public land west side general archery hunt  (Read 11296 times)

Offline Elkcollector82

• Work to live, not live to work.
  • Non-Hunting Topics
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Longhunter
  • Hunt hard by laying boot tracks, Not tire tracks
Public land west side general archery hunt
« on: August 16, 2017, 10:15:44 AM »
  Little bit about myself. Moved to Washington few years ago. Never hunted in this state tell I moved here. Grew up in Oregon. Been hunting Roosevelt since I was knee high to a grass hopper. Had my best friend in Oregon and my dad to hunt with. Been hunting Washington solo. Tell this year. My new hunting partner just started hunting a couple years ago. He pretty much new to all this. We started talking hunting and hit it off pretty well. I offered up and he took the chance.

I stayed local for the first few years hunting in Washington. Not venturing to far in the backcountry. I studied maps and reports and did a lot of hiking and scouting in the off season during those years. Well this year I found a hand full of spots and all produce a lot of animals. Picked my favorite spot and me and my partner headed off first of June to hang cams.

He thought I was nuts when I told him we hiking in 8 miles snow covered ground to get into the area we were gonna hunt. I checked hiking reports and road conditions. I read a report that said we could get few miles from the trailhead we wanted. So off we went. Got up to the area that the report said we would hit the snow. Boy they were right. Come around the corner to 4ft deep snow drift. So we packed the packs and off we went. We got to the trail head and decided to stay on the upper part of the area we were gonna hunt.