collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: Phantoms  (Read 2443 times)

Offline ZEN

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Hunter
Phantoms
« on: October 14, 2007, 11:27:14 AM »
We were on a hillside that split a long clear cut in half and focused on working the tree line.  To the right it went uphill with a couple small tables and to the left it went down to a large table.  Lots of big-ish tracks on the hills above each of those tables and behind us.  Was hoping for a cut off.  We had a low screen/tarp type blind stretched in a curve across our left lane of fire and some timber stumps and crap covered our front and right.  It was a bunker almost.  We heard a lot calling in the area.  Primarily a couple deer vocalized in the trees to our 1-2 O'clock but that's the hole in my game this year is knowing a male/young male from a female just by hearing them.  I'm not good at calling yet.  When the deer seemed farther out I immitated what I could.  I decided I liked one call better than the other when I was able to create some interest and the deer followed my sounds.  I didn't call a lot but I do think my last response was the wrong one.  We lost the connection.  I'm just not speaking the language yet.  (Night school maybe.  Foreign exchange. ;) )  I liked immitating though.  I'll cue up some MP3's and practice before next weekend.  Less is more and I only want to learn a few "words".  Around lunch It had been slow but we had one coming in that really liked a couple responses I'd made so I put my gun in my lap and set my base.  We lost that first one I'd drew in so I called even less for the second. That was good I think and this guy was definately interested but our area had some other pressures...he vanished.  Rifle down. :'( Maybe we were made.  So it was awesome!  Came home early to touch base with you guys, listen to some deer sounds, regroup.  I felt pretty good about our effort.  We were going to hunt today but issues with my vehicle got us heading home last night.  All for the best.