collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: Hopefully not tag soup - and a question about poo  (Read 2048 times)

Offline yakimanoob

• Non-Hunting Topics
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Sourdough
Hopefully not tag soup - and a question about poo
« on: October 01, 2017, 09:24:13 PM »
Welp, I just finished my last planned bear hunt and have struck out so far.  I may have a chance towards end of season but I'm not sure I'll be able to open up my schedule so it may be tag soup for me on bears at least. 

I spent this weekend in 360 hoping to connect with a bear after getting several on my game cam.  Considering I got no less than 4 individual bears in as many weeks on the camera, I saw surprisingly little sign overall and only laid my eyes on one bear.  The one I did spot was BIG though. I'm a noob but he looked fat and had the swagger, dark snout, and little ears.  I would have gladly taken him but I only saw him through an opening in the trees from about 700yds for a few seconds at about 7:15am then lost track of him and never figured out where he went.  I thought he might come up through the saddle where I had my camera so I waited to ambush him there but no luck (just a few cars driving near that probably sent him another way).  Dang other people, ruining my still hunting near roads  :chuckle:

The winds were crazy all weekend and the basin where I spotted him seemed to be sucking wind into it from every direction I tried.  I guess that's why the big ones live there. 

I saw a few tracks scattered around, a few torn up stumps, and really no other sign at all until I got down in the basin in a last-ditch attempt to connect.  I inadvertently walked right through his lair, so-to-speak, and it was rather hair-raising to be there right at dusk amidst at least two crushed skulls and various other parts, one of which was from a full-grown elk.  All old kills though so I assume he picks off the weak ones in the spring.