collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: Got my new Howa Axiom! Barrel break-in?  (Read 15519 times)

Offline trippledigitss

• 1.21 Jigawatts!?!
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sourdough
Got my new Howa Axiom! Barrel break-in?
« on: July 15, 2010, 08:59:34 PM »
So I got my new Axiom in 22-250 yesterday and I'm planning on getting it zeroed tomorrow and hunting with it this weekend. Its the Ranchland Kings Desert Camo (as you can see) with 24" heavy barrel and the matching Stirling Nighteater 4.5-16x44 scope. Its a bit heavier than my MP15 but I like it and I'm pumped to shoot it! I'm also gonna put a Harris 25c ultra-light bipod on it so there's another pound to add to the listed 10.8lbs. I think its heavier than that since UPS weighed it at 16.4 in the box and I doubt the box and foam weighs 5#???

Anyway, whats your guy's take on barrel break in? Is it really that important? I've never done that on any of my rifles before and they *seem* to shoot fine to me!  :dunno: I read a 'how to' page online and it says if you dont have a barrel guide to clean it with dont even bother - you'll do more damage with the cleaning rod than you will by shooting it. I find that hard to believe, I always clean from the breach end and use my fingers as a guide and so with that and the chamber I dont think the rod hardly touches the barrel. Also I use a bore snake most of the time except to oil the barrel with a patch.

But I've never had a BA rifle before want to dial in this gun to a tack-driver as best I can so I want to do it right. So can some of you guys gimme your take on all this barrel break in and how important you think it is? Thanks!
I aint superstitious - cuz its bad luck!
Global Warming: The #1 threat to Unicorns!

Offline trippledigitss

• 1.21 Jigawatts!?!
  • Sourdough
Re: Got my new Howa Axiom! Barrel break-in?
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2010, 09:02:40 PM »
More Pics

Offline coop2424

• Site Sponsor
  • Non-Hunting Topics
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Sourdough