collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: Alpine Lakes High buck hunt help  (Read 21874 times)

Offline pyroducksx3

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Pilgrim
Alpine Lakes High buck hunt help
« on: August 19, 2011, 03:21:23 PM »
I'm new to the high buck hunting. I know I'm a little late with the planning phase but what I'm looking for is some help deciding where to start. I had originally been planning on hunting out of the Beverly camp ground ( a friend had told me it was only a mile or so up trail and then you can hunt) but after a call to the ranger station I was told it was more like a 5 mile hike till you can get to the wilderness area. Other areas I'm looking at are the salmon la sac and the Ingalls area. So basically this year is an investigative trip into high buck hunting and I will be day hiking in. Hopefully backpacking in and staying in the field next year. Any help would be appreciate and info about hunting pressure/crowds. I understand this might be best done through PM or email so anyone willing to help please do. Also I realize this is my first post here ,just came across this site recently really like it, but you can check me out on longrangehunting same name if that helps. Thanks again

Offline johnnyaustin44

• Non-Hunting Topics
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Sourdough
Re: Alpine Lakes High buck hunt help
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2011, 03:35:55 PM »
I've gone up outta salmon la sac up to lake waptus.  good looking area. bout a seven mile hike but the further u are the better in my opinion

Offline pyroducksx3

• Pilgrim
« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2011, 03:42:01 PM »
I agree with that, even where I hunt locally I hike 2 miles in.

Also I was trying to get good resources for maps or books. I will pick up some maps at the ranger station but I also found these