collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: High Hunts  (Read 7101 times)

Offline FishEKat

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Tracker
High Hunts
« on: May 03, 2012, 08:43:38 PM »
I am fairly new to hunting, 2 years experience, but I am planning on doing a high hunt this year. I am debating on either the Olympic or the Alpine wildernesses. I am planning some hiking/backpacking/scouting trips and would like some advice from people who have done either of those places.  Thanks.

Offline JimmyHoffa

• Non-Hunting Topics
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Explorer
Re: High Hunts
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2012, 08:50:51 PM »
What are you wanting to know?  I've been in 3 of the olympic ones.  I'll try to help when it comes to roads, trails, camps, etc.

Offline FishEKat

• Tracker
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2012, 09:00:02 PM »
Access points would be a starting point. I live in Puyallup so getting to know how to get to some trails that lead up into the wilderness areas would be great. Also sharing your experiences on what it is like up there? Temp, weather, etc.  I plan on going with 1 or 2 others. What if 1 of us gets an animal; do we have to stop the hunt and pack the animal down or can we hang it up and keep hunting?

Offline JPhelps

• I EAT ELK!!!
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Frontiersman
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2012, 09:04:59 PM »
Depends on the weather and if you guys are comfortable with one of you packing the deer out while the others continue hunting?

Google earth and maps are your friend when it comes to looking at new spots

Offline JimmyHoffa

• Non-Hunting Topics
  • Explorer
« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2012, 10:12:58 PM »