collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: Eastside upland Hunting?  (Read 7310 times)

Offline ellsworth

• Warshington Newbie
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Hunter
  • Warshington Newbie
Eastside upland Hunting?
« on: August 26, 2008, 09:25:27 PM »
So I want to give the upland game a shot this year.  I've never really hunted any upland birds before so I wanted to give it a shot.

Next problem....no dog.  I know, I know the landlords won't allow.

I was wondering if anyone else is in this predicament and if so what do you do?  Walk cover and try to flush yourself?  Stick to grouse mostly?

Another question, for any grouse hunters out here, I have been told that there are grouse to be had, just not sure where, there aren't any trees so it's a little confusing for me.

Thanks for the help,

Ellsworth
That's why it's called hunting and not killing.

Offline piledup

• Scout
Re: Eastside upland Hunting?
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2008, 11:23:08 PM »
I've never tried upland before but if I was to try it with no dog, I'd probably flush them myself.  :twocents:

Ruffed grouse are found near wet areas and trees and any where in between. For the blue grouse, they are higher in elevation and they like rocky areas to wet and open areas. This has been my experience with these grouse before but it might be different in other areas. :twocents:

Offline SpokaneSlayer

• Sourdough
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2008, 11:28:05 PM »
I'll be doing some grouse hunting after I get my deer.  I took all next week off just to hunt.   :IBCOOL:

"Let freedom ring with a shotgun blast!" - Machine Head

Offline piledup

• Scout
« Reply #3 on: August 26, 2008, 11:37:14 PM »
Grouse is first on my list unless I see a big buck then it would be a different story. The whole elk season, I'm off so "If it's elk hunting, I'm in." :chuckle:

Offline WAcoueshunter

• Trade Count: (+2)
  • Frontiersman
« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2008, 12:06:07 AM »