collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: Need some advice  (Read 4073 times)

Offline 270Shooter

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Frontiersman
Need some advice
« on: April 23, 2014, 03:40:53 PM »
Had a tough time this first part of the season, hunting mainly klickitat county. I'm relatively new to turkey hunting, though I did call in and kill a nice Tom in Yakima county a few years ago. My question for all you turkey masters is when you are trying to run and gun them (locate and move into call them in) how far do you go after locating the bird? Several times I've located a Tom and moved as close as I feel like I should go without bumping into him only to find he has either moved off in the opposite direction but still gobbling, or moved off and stopped gobbling altogether. Is that usually a sign that they are henned up? Or am I just not the good of a caller? I feel like my calling cant be too bad if they continue to gobble when I let out a few yelps, I just don't understand why they seem to keep moving off on me.

Offline jblackburn

• Hunter
  • Groups: NWTF
Re: Need some advice
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2014, 04:15:29 PM »
Could be a sign of just about anything.  Most likely there are hens, and they are already headed to where they want to go.  If possible, take a wide loop around him to get in front of where you think he's going. 

Are you using locator calls (like a crow) or hen calls?  I like to blow a crow call real hard every once in a while to keep him gobbling so I know where he is.

Offline sneakyjake

• Scout
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2014, 04:16:47 PM »