collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: Helping Out The Older Generation  (Read 1284 times)

Offline StanwoodSpartan

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Tracker
Helping Out The Older Generation
« on: January 18, 2009, 11:09:37 PM »
Started out todays hunt with the same old trec out to the same old hunting spot. Threw the dekes out, and watched fellow hunters start to fill the surrounding areas. Shooting time finally came around, and to the right front was acouple of 300 yard skybusters, and to the left front was a couple young kids playing shoot the tweety birds. So safe to say nothing made it into me. Picked up the dekes and trecked back to the truck. My Echo Boss call was frozen, so i started playing around with her, and what do you know, a drake widgeon decides to cup and join me in the parking lot. it finally flared off, right at a couple older guys sitting on the hedge row. They shot it, and I went over to chat with them. They had no dekes, no calls, and hadn't seen a bird all day except for that one. Well, that soon turned into me calling for them, and by the time I got the idea to go back to the truck and get my waders and acket back on and grab my gun, they had limited and were packing up to go home. I took a pic of the first drake widgeon and first greenhead to cross paths with them. And by the way, after they left, I stuck around and didn't shoot, or even see one bird. :bash: :bash: :bash: :bash: :'( :'( :'(

Shoot a goose, save a plane!

Offline mossback91

• Political & Covid-19 Topics
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Frontiersman
Re: Helping Out The Older Generation
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2009, 11:11:45 PM »
I have one question.....who goes duck hunting without calls and dekes?

Offline StanwoodSpartan

• Tracker
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2009, 11:14:22 PM »
They were sitting on the hedgerow waiting for the ducks and geese to cross into the fields behind us, hoping they wouldn't see them in the fog. One problem, this morning the fog burned off at shooting time.