collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: Finding pet loads  (Read 3822 times)

Offline Crunchy

• Political & Covid-19 Topics
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Frontiersman
Finding pet loads
« on: April 22, 2016, 08:16:41 PM »
So I have been reloading for two years, and have my 7mm load down to a science.  That took a couple of hundred rounds to determine, with different powder charges and seating depths.  You all have any short cuts to finding the pet load.  I am going to work up a pet load for my 338 win mag and have all the components minus the primers that nobody has lol.
Just curious as I plan to start a smidge of the lands and work on powder charges.  Once I find the powder charge sweet spot, then tweak the seating depth to see if that brings it all together.  You all do anything different?

Offline HighlandLofts

• Business Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (+19)
  • Sourdough
  • Groups: WAC,
Re: Finding pet loads
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2016, 09:14:33 AM »
You should go check out the WAC Gun Show this weekend at the Puyallup Fair Grounds for your primers.
What are you looking for? They might have some up North here that I could pick up for you.
WAC
NRA
Walk Light, Carry A Big Stick, Never Walk Away. - Teddy Roosevelt
Don't Take Your Guns To Town.   Johnny Cash

Offline BULLBLASTER

• Non-Hunting Topics
  • Trade Count: (+14)
  • Old Salt
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2016, 05:59:27 PM »
When I develop loads for a rifle I start with a seating depth somehwere in the area of .01 - .03 off lands or magazine length and work up charge strictly to develop max load. Then once I know that I will load a seating depth test of 4-5 different depths around .01 different from one another and from either .005 or mag length on the long side. One should stand out. If none of that works for the components I have selected it is usually time to double check components or do some accurizing on the rifle itself

Offline Forks

• Non-Hunting Topics
  • Longhunter
  • Groups: NRA Phes. Forev.