collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: Newbie Hunter Question  (Read 3003 times)

Offline TheGreenHunter

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Pilgrim
Newbie Hunter Question
« on: June 11, 2017, 05:26:22 PM »
I'm an absolute beginner to hunting and getting into it in my 40's.  I've taken the hunter education class and also took the archery education class as well.  I've setup some simple goals for my first year of hunting.  I want to see if I can hunt some small game (rabbit and grouse) and see if I can find/identify the signs of big game (hoof prints, tree rubbings, deer/elk poop, and bear scat) and if possible actually get a black tail deer.  Due to some circumstances this year, I can't travel very far from the Seattle/Eastside area so i'll be day hunting so I've started scouting in GMU 460 and specifically, the Hancock Tree Farm.  I bought the motorized permit so I can get around that property pretty easily and can get to areas the bump up against national forest areas.

So far in my scouting trips, I believe I found deer poop (looked like black licorice jelly beans) and elk poop (these looked like smaller versions of cow poop and from what I read they can look like this when they eat a lot of wet vegetation).  I believe I saw grouse this past weekend but couldn't tell what kind of grouse they were.  Funny enough, I haven't seen any rabbits on the tree farm but there is a bumper crop of cotton tails around my house this year.  I already seen elk but they weren't on the property and I finally saw my first black tail deer this weekend.  It was a doe with a fawn (still had white spots on it)

I haven't seen any bear although I think I came across a tree scrape left by a bear.  (see picture below)

The questions I had in mind were