collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: Smoked Salmon  (Read 2237 times)

Offline branches

• Non-Hunting Topics
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Scout
Smoked Salmon
« on: August 31, 2017, 12:59:55 AM »
So I have been smoking salmon and steelhead for many years. I usually do a dry brine in a Tupperware container for about 24 hours and then rinse in cold water and dry the fillets and put in my big chief smoker for around 6 to 20 hours depending on the amount of fish and how thick they are. What I do not do consistently is cut the fillets the same length. I have smoked fillets full length and I have smoked them as small as 1/2 inch strips. I have found that when I cut the fillets in 3 inch strips I get the best product. We just caught a few fish to smoke and the first batch was 3 inch strips and the second batch was a entire fillet. The 3 inch strips came out 10X better than the entire fillet. I would like to get the entire fillet to come out like the strips. Is it just that I need a longer brine time for the full fillet?

Offline PolarBear

• Site Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Explorer
Re: Smoked Salmon
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2017, 06:03:35 AM »
Try cutting hash marks 1/2 the way through every 2-3" in the fillet to let the brine and smoke get in there better.  :twocents:

Offline Alchase

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Explorer
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2017, 09:42:12 AM »
Try cutting hash marks 1/2 the way through every 2-3" in the fillet to let the brine and smoke get in there better.  :twocents:

:yeah:

Works great!
Only 2 defining forces sacrificed themselves for you:
The American Soldier and Jesus Christ. One died for your freedom, the other for your soul.

My rock,
He trains my hands for war and my fingers for battle.
Psalm 144.1

Offline branches

• Non-Hunting Topics
  • Scout
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2017, 11:57:00 PM »