collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: Spokane Dog Training Partner  (Read 3882 times)

Offline nutntoit

• Trade Count: (+1)
  • Hunter
Spokane Dog Training Partner
« on: September 26, 2017, 09:12:43 AM »
I am looking for someone in Spokane to train my dog with. I live in South Spokane and have a 6 MO Labrador with a ton of desire. I have been working on obedience and basic commands, here, stay, sit, heel, whoa, etc. (I hunt mostly upland) I am at the point where I need some help introducing live birds and gunfire. He is my first dog so I am new to bird dog training and really don't want to make any mistakes that will haunt me down the road. I have him enrolled in a professional training school but that does not start until next summer. I would love to take him out a couple times this year to follow around a more experienced dog and see how he does. I have looked into joining the Spokane Bird Dog Association, but there doesn't appear to be anything on their calendar. If anyone is interested in a training partner or doesn't mind sharing some knowledge over the phone or over a beer let me know.
Thanks in advance.

Offline JLS

• Frontiersman
  • Groups: Support the LWCF!
Re: Spokane Dog Training Partner
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2017, 09:40:35 AM »
You can condition your dog to gunfire now. Start when feeding and shoot a 22 blank nearby.  Work closer , and if there is no negative reaction, work up to larger noises. 

I did this by playing fetch with my dog and giving treats while my kids were shooting rifles at a range.  Take your dog out this fall and expose it to wild bird. They will learn a great deal on their own, and there is no need to worry about them having to learn from an experienced dog.

I would strongly consider the force fetch option after this hunting season, it is not a difficult process as long as you understand it and are willing to be consistent throughout.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Matthew 7:13-14

Offline nutntoit

• Hunter