collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: NISQAULLY STEELHEAD!!  (Read 7008 times)

Offline JimmyHoffa

• Non-Hunting Topics
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Explorer
Re: NISQAULLY STEELHEAD!!
« Reply #30 on: February 26, 2018, 02:22:53 PM »
I am far from an expert but a couple weekends ago I caught a beauty of a wild steelhead but now reading some of these posts how do I know itwasnt a hatchery fish that wasn't clipped? It fought like mad on light gear but that's nothing unusual, how do you guys tell the difference between a non clipped hatchery to an honest to god native fish?
For coastal fish, some like to say if the adipose fin is smaller than about an inch high it is likely a hatchery fish.  Hatchery fish also might have rounded off fins.

Offline spoonman

• Trade Count: (+8)
  • Longhunter
« Reply #31 on: February 26, 2018, 02:26:02 PM »
I am far from an expert but a couple weekends ago I caught a beauty of a wild steelhead but now reading some of these posts how do I know itwasnt a hatchery fish that wasn't clipped? It fought like mad on light gear but that's nothing unusual, how do you guys tell the difference between a non clipped hatchery to an honest to god native fish?
For coastal fish, some like to say if the adipose fin is smaller than about an inch high it is likely a hatchery fish.  Hatchery fish also might have rounded off fins.

Per the park regs in the oly pen if the adipose fin is shorter than a credit card that it is a hatchery fish.

Offline 7mmfan

• Non-Hunting Topics
  • Trade Count: (+7)
  • Old Salt
    • https://www.facebook.com/rory.oconnor.9480
« Reply #32 on: February 26, 2018, 02:26:54 PM »
as much as i would like to fish that river in march and april again, i can only imagine the cluster it would be if it was reopened.  every hack guide coming out of the woodwork, as well as the "look at me" social media addicted turds that fish for likes on facebook.