collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: How long do elk stick around?  (Read 1706 times)

Offline chrissmith002

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Tracker
How long do elk stick around?
« on: November 25, 2018, 07:12:12 PM »
I'm new to hunting, only got a turkey in October on my first hunt ever. Archery, so I am hunting for the next few weeks.

This is on the west side, southern

Today when I was out solo, I got hot on a trail. Went into a cut that was re-planted probably 8 years ago. There was scat everywhere, fresh tracks, rubs, the whole 9. I got in about 100 - 200 yards and heard a big rustle. Went in a bit deeper towards the noise, the whole time I'm down wind. I had no way of not making noise on the path I was going on, there was pretty thick under brush. I stepped on some holly looking plants and they made some noise. Couldn't have been more than 30 yards away I heard a big grunt? and smaller... don't know how to explain that noise. I'm guessing a Bull and a Cow. They both took off, not thrashing, but they definitely got spooked and left.

There were beds everywhere, and every 10-15 yards was scat. None of it was very old. Around 2pm I decided to turn back. I didn't want to start something I couldn't finish today, taking tomorrow off isn't an option. (Thought about it!)

Question is- how long can elk stick around? I know that they are pretty habitual, is it just weather dependent? This was around 800 ft in elevation.

I can only hunt weekends, but I am going out with a buddy who is more experienced next Saturday- Sunday. Is there a chance they might still be there? Obviously I'm going to check regardless.... Hopefully I didn't miss my opportunity! Any experiences on how long they can stick around? Any tips on what I should have done differently?

Online Dan-o

• Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+24)
  • Explorer
Re: How long do elk stick around?
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2018, 07:32:35 PM »