collapse
GET THE MOST OUT OF YOUR GPS MAP Join us to help support Bowhunting

Author Topic: Adding a D loop to my string?  (Read 196 times)

Offline bornhunter

  • Political Topics
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Longhunter
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2018
  • Posts: 603
  • Location: Lewis County
  • Groups: NRA, RMEF,
Adding a D loop to my string?
« on: February 12, 2019, 11:04:59 AM »
A couple of guys I shoot with tell me I would shoot better with a loop. I shoot well now but always open to improvement. Anyone out there experience a better outcome by adding a loop?
« Last Edit: February 12, 2019, 11:14:36 AM by bornhunter »

Online WapitiTalk1

  • Past Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (+7)
  • Frontiersman
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 3892
  • Location: NW Washington
Re: Adding a loop to my string?
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2019, 11:08:07 AM »
If youíre talking a D loop, it is a better method than using nock sets; less wear and tear on your string. Not sure if it increases accuracy? 
Darton Archery Maverick II
"Sir, left side Sir!" "Are you sure Private Pyle?"
Elknut Field Staff

Offline bornhunter

  • Political Topics
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Longhunter
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2018
  • Posts: 603
  • Location: Lewis County
  • Groups: NRA, RMEF,
Re: Adding a loop to my string?
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2019, 11:09:30 AM »
If youíre talking a D loop, it is a better method than using nock sets; less wear and tear on your string. Not sure if it increases accuracy?

Yes, thanks. I meant D loop.

Offline j_h_nimrod

  • Non-Hunting Topics
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Sourdough
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2011
  • Posts: 1314
  • Location: Humptulips, WA
Re: Adding a loop to my string?
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2019, 11:17:47 AM »
Pretty easy to do, lots of YouTube videos on it that explain it better than I can here. I canít say definitively, but I would think the balanced pull around the nock would lead to better accuracy than pulling above or below.

Offline Crunchy

  • Political Topics
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Frontiersman
  • *****
  • Join Date: Apr 2007
  • Posts: 3431
  • Location: Puyallup
Re: Adding a D loop to my string?
« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2019, 12:45:17 PM »
It also keeps you from adding torque to the string, not that I know its a big deal.  But with being hooked to the D loop it cant twist without affecting the string much at all.

 

* Recent Topics

For Sale: 1985 Chevrolet K5 Blazer by woodswalker
[Today at 02:29:05 PM]


Alaska Winter Mountain Goat Hunt! Just gonna send it!!!!! by Ghost Hunter
[Today at 02:24:36 PM]


Krackers Blow your doors off Razor chowder by Kc_Kracker
[Today at 02:18:20 PM]


ELECTRONIC CALLS by KFhunter
[Today at 02:11:13 PM]


Help an Idaho newbie by ljsommer
[Today at 02:10:10 PM]


Cougar Call-in Stories by rainshadow1
[Today at 01:46:28 PM]


5th Annual - 2019 YOUTH TURKEY HUNT CONTEST (enter by Mar 25) by jagermiester
[Today at 01:31:43 PM]


First time Montana applicant by mburrows
[Today at 01:30:04 PM]


Looking for a Do It Yourself Project Article by Machias
[Today at 01:26:41 PM]


CZ 527 .204 Ruger by MHWASH
[Today at 12:59:42 PM]


SELL: 45-70 Ammo by AK45
[Today at 12:56:11 PM]


MOA, explained by an internet expert by jasnt
[Today at 12:39:45 PM]


Toyota 4 runner vs Chevy Tahoe by jackelope
[Today at 12:28:53 PM]


New Zealand DIY by bolsen
[Today at 12:26:12 PM]


Blacktail sheds dropping yet? by Mfowl
[Today at 12:18:46 PM]


www.hunttheweb.com Virtual hunting game by boneaddict
[Today at 12:15:35 PM]


I need to buy down rigger gear--advice needed by throttlejocky20
[Today at 12:01:29 PM]


Western Washington grouse by Alchase
[Today at 11:51:35 AM]


travel trailer tires by DRobnsn
[Today at 11:31:36 AM]


Coyotes luring dogs by AWS
[Today at 11:30:24 AM]