collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: Elk License vs tag AND where am I allowed to hunt?  (Read 3508 times)

Offline BubbaJones

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Pilgrim
Elk License vs tag AND where am I allowed to hunt?
« on: December 20, 2019, 03:31:24 PM »
If you couldn't tell by the title... Yes I am a newbie bow hunter. Never been but I want to do it and make it a part of my life. As someone who didn't grow up with hunting I don't know the rules and regs like I'm sure most of you do. Looking online at the WDFW website and reading all of their literature, I'm still not sure what the exact rules are.

Can I just purchase my Elk license (after taking the appropriate safety course) and then hunt on any public land when the general season rolls around? Or do I have to purchase additional "tags" on top of my license? If so, do I need to buy a tag for a specific GMU? Sorry for all of the BASIC newbie questions, but I of course want to make sure I know the rules and regs so I can hunt responsibly.

PS I've been looking around on this forum all over and it's still not quite clear to me. THANK YOU!

Offline jeffro

• Political & Covid-19 Topics
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Longhunter
Re: Elk License vs tag AND where am I allowed to hunt?
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2019, 03:35:52 PM »
You need a hunting license.
Then a weapon specific for deer and or elk tag
Elk must be chosen between west side or East side
Then you can apply for special, gmu specific hunts on top of that
One shot. One kill!

Offline bobcat

• Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+14)
  • Legend
    • robert68
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2019, 03:50:05 PM »
You buy an elk license, and with that you also get your elk tag. It's $50 and that's all you need. You will have to select either east or west and if you want to hunt modern firearm, archery, or muzzleloader.

Offline Bob33

• Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Legend
  • Groups: SCI, RMEF, NRA, Hunter Education