collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: Cut Knurling  (Read 1329 times)

Offline Sabotloader

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Sourdough
Cut Knurling
« on: June 26, 2020, 10:39:27 AM »
The bullet I am knurling is a Barnes 50x275MZ, out of the box the bullets drops right to the breech plug in the bore of my Knight Ultra-Lite.

I have been knurling bullets for several years now, increasing their diameter to fit a particular rifle, because as we know not all ML bores are the same size. Another thing that I have found with experimentation is the bullet does not have to load as tight a many think. There can be two problems with a light loading bullet - 1. It must be tight enough not to slip off the powder while engaging in hunting opportunities. 2. Loading a bullet that is to loose on BH-209 can also lead to ignition problems.

One other thing that will need to be discussed - used is a wad of some type to seal the gas behind a flat bottom bullet.  There are many types of wads out there to choose from.  I prefer to use the MMP sub-bridge for shooting flat bottom sabotless bullets.

This picture shows the sub-bridges mentioned.

The bullet I am using this time is a Barnes 50-275 MZ.  It works very well for me because a typical Allen wrench will fit in the nose of the bullet and act as my bullet turning device when the bullet is placed into the tubing cutter.  Not all hollow point bullets will allow a Allen wrench the ability to turn the bullet.

The tubing cutter used to cut, actually displace material equally around the diameter of the bullet. The displaced material acts to increase the diameter of the bullet.  The knurling then will hold the bullet in place as well as grabbing the lands of the bore. Most often the knurling will not fill the grooves of the bore.  Although, depending on the type and construction of the bullet you may get some bullet obturation that could help sealing the bullet to the bore.