collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: 2 or 3 pellets? Copper no good?  (Read 5089 times)

Offline Recon

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Tracker
2 or 3 pellets? Copper no good?
« on: September 16, 2021, 08:50:04 AM »
I have a few questions that some of you with more knowledge may be able to help with. I am new to muzzleloaders, I am shooting the CVA optima with peep sights. I bought a bunch of different types of bullets and powders to try. Barnes tmz 290gr seems to shoot the best for me. When I zeroed this round I was using 2 777 pellets so 100gr. Easily able to hit the 200yard pie plate with this setup. However, I was told by someone that has more experience than me that I should be using 3 pellets of white hots. He said 2 is not enough powder. He also mentioned I should ditch the Barnes and get like an all lead for elk. Should I switch my setup to 3 pellets instead of 2 for elk? Are all copper sabots not good for elk?
Thanks for any insight.
kyle

Offline usmc74

• Non-Hunting Topics
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Sourdough
  • Groups: NRA (Life), RMEF, SAF (Life), American Legion (Life), Master Hunter
Re: 2 or 3 pellets? Copper no good?
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2021, 08:55:11 AM »
Neither of my 2 elk objected to being shot with 110gr T7 powder and Barnes 290 copper bullets.

Offline 10thmountainarcher

• Business Sponsor
  • Longhunter
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2021, 08:56:10 AM »
What are you using for ignition?

Offline Mtnwalker

• Political & Covid-19 Topics
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Sourdough
« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2021, 09:02:11 AM »