collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: Elk hunting East or West?  (Read 4933 times)

Offline spencerpants

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Pilgrim
  • Groups: WTA, Mountaineers
Elk hunting East or West?
« on: May 07, 2022, 11:51:29 AM »
Hi everyone!

Me and my buddy are self-taught hunters and still pretty new to the sport (2020). Been loving it and learning a ton, but no tags filled so far. We're both based on the west side outside Olympia, and in the past we've generally stayed pretty close to home. This coming year, I'm starting to wonder if we should try hunting the eastern part of the state for elk specifically, and I wanted to reach out to see what you guys on here think.

What sparked this whole idea was I recently took a camping trip out east, and just saw so much elk sign it blew me away, especially after spending two seasons in the brush and not seeing much at all! In the past I was pretty set on trying to tag a Roosevelt bull in our home turf, but I'm thinking maybe I should start following my eyes and going where the elk are. Plus, I'm imagining we'll probably get much longer shooting/scouting opportunities and less rain... no complaints here!