Free: Contests & Raffles.
Illegal. Here's why:You have to review the definitions just prior to the explanation:Antler Points: To qualify as a point, an antler point must be at least one-inch in length, measured on the longest side.Branch: A branch is defined as any projection off the main antler beam that is at least one inch long, measured on the longest side, and longer than it is wide.Spike Bull Restrictions: Elk taken in these game management units (GMUs) must have at least one antler with no branches originating more than four(4)inches above where the antler attaches to the skull. An animal with a spike on one side (1x2) is legal in spike only units An animal with more than one antler point more than four inches above where the antler attaches to the skull on both sides (2x2) is illegal.Antler point is measured from the tip, and he has two of them longer than 4 inches. The antler branch origination is legal, but his antler tip would also have to be under 4 inches from the skull. Basically it allows for little one inch stickers at the bottom of the spike antler. That boy looks like a 4x2.It's not the Judge that finds you guilty it's a handful of people that were not smart enough to get out of jury duty. I wouldn't shoot it based on my understanding of the regs.
Quote from: runngun on July 24, 2013, 09:52:26 PMIllegal. Here's why:You have to review the definitions just prior to the explanation:Antler Points: To qualify as a point, an antler point must be at least one-inch in length, measured on the longest side.Branch: A branch is defined as any projection off the main antler beam that is at least one inch long, measured on the longest side, and longer than it is wide.Spike Bull Restrictions: Elk taken in these game management units (GMUs) must have at least one antler with no branches originating more than four(4)inches above where the antler attaches to the skull. An animal with a spike on one side (1x2) is legal in spike only units An animal with more than one antler point more than four inches above where the antler attaches to the skull on both sides (2x2) is illegal.Antler point is measured from the tip, and he has two of them longer than 4 inches. The antler branch origination is legal, but his antler tip would also have to be under 4 inches from the skull. Basically it allows for little one inch stickers at the bottom of the spike antler. That boy looks like a 4x2.It's not the Judge that finds you guilty it's a handful of people that were not smart enough to get out of jury duty. I wouldn't shoot it based on my understanding of the regs. reading your highlights the elk has no branch above four inches and has no points above four inches. Your interpretation of a point definition is off. You measure a point from the tip to a beam or another point. Take the 3pt min for deer with your interpretation of a point. a 2pt deer with a half inch point forked at the end of the main beam is a 3pt becausr from tip to the base is more then one inch but thats not correct. I have seen a bull with a six point side and a spile with two points off the base and a forked brow tine. It was checked by a game warden and was legal. I say this bull pictured is legal.
Legal. It's a spike with an eye guard that simple. The definition is "originating 4" above where the antler is attached to the skull" ORIGINATING... Therefore begins, starts, (branches). So like I said spike with an eye guard on the right side. Tine length plays no factor.
I won't be letting any arrows loose on anything questionable. It is a fun debate and that is why I posted. However, I will work on getting the opinion of WDFW for kicks and giggles.