I say legal but does it matter if it is true spike or just a spike unit? He is either a true spike or a two by two correct?
that's what I think as well.
Agree.
I'd say the antler part is the part that sheds. The stem of the antler is what I consider skull. I consider the start of the antler as the part that sheds, so basically anything from the base of the burl and up. I feel like that'd be the given definition from WDFW as well. It wouldn't make any sense for them to go from the cranium base as nobody can measure that on a living animal. If that were the intent I would assume they'd specify more clearly or just make no allowances for extra points at all.
That being said, with the branch under 4" from the burl, thats a shooter in a spike or spike only area.
Like others have said, it is either a 2x2 or a true spike, which would make it either legal in both types of areas or legal in none if you're unsure about the 4" rule.