collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: Warm(ish) Weather "after the shot" care  (Read 6930 times)

Offline EMPyre

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Scout
Warm(ish) Weather "after the shot" care
« on: October 04, 2007, 10:02:58 AM »
Ok, I'm looking for a bit of advice from the veterans outthere.  i'm new to big game (second season) and hoping to bring something home this year.  My question has to do with what to do with an animal after it has be dispatched, and field dressed.  Primarily I'm concerned with storing the animal in the warmer weather that we'll likely see during the day.  I've seen plety of people hanging deer but I'm concerned about spoilage.  Should I be quatering and/or butchering down that deer ASAP and getting packed on ice?  What is everyones thought, advice, techniques with after shot care/prep.  Thanks.
Erich
Erich with an H

Offline jackelope

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+27)
  • Legend
  • Groups: jackelope
Re: Warm(ish) Weather "after the shot" care
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2007, 10:12:46 AM »
skin off asap...stored in shade, then quartered at least and on ice asap. ours is hung in a garage usually only overnight then processed and iced down in a cooler.
we usually hunt out of the house though, so i'm curious to see what happens at deer camp.
:fire.:

" In today's instant gratification society, more and more pressure revolves around success and the measurement of one's prowess as a hunter by inches on a score chart or field photos produced on social media. Don't fall into the trap. Hunting is-and always will be- about the hunt, the adventure, the views, and time spent with close friends and family. " Ryan Hatfield

My posts, opinions and statements do not represent those of this forum

Offline saylean

• Team Slayer Packmule
  • Old Salt
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2007, 10:33:13 AM »