collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: Totally New To Waterfowl Tips for Scouting Locations.  (Read 4412 times)

Offline Cab

• Political & Covid-19 Topics
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Longhunter
Totally New To Waterfowl Tips for Scouting Locations.
« on: September 27, 2018, 11:25:09 AM »
Hi All, I'm totally new to waterfowl and am very interested in it. I've already done some forum searches on here for general tips. I can do all of my own research on decoys, laws/rules, gear and how to get dead ducks without a dog(a fishing pole seems like an interesting technique I've seen) and all that.

What I am curious about is how do you all go about scouting for locations via google earth and on foot? I know water of course is a very important component but what else do you look for? Is it better to find some areas on google earth and to scout them super early to see if ducks enjoy those locations or can you scout them at any time to see if ducks are there? I want to try and find small ponds or locations that are a bit more remote to get away from the crowd and if possible knock down a few ducks would be nice. I'm in Vancouver and have been thinking about planning to duck hunting next year so I can take the proper time to scout, learn the laws and get all the gear. Any tips would be great!

Offline CedarPants

• Sourdough
Re: Totally New To Waterfowl Tips for Scouting Locations.
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2018, 11:33:31 AM »
Google Earth is a good tool.  You may also want to get the onX app.  Fairly inexpensive for a yearly subscription and it will show property lines and ownership details.

Offline Cab

• Longhunter
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2018, 11:42:48 AM »
Google Earth is a good tool.  You may also want to get the onX app.  Fairly inexpensive for a yearly subscription and it will show property lines and ownership details.

I love Onxmap! it's my favorite tool for scouting for sure, good call on that!

Offline mburrows

• Non-Hunting Topics
  • Trade Count: (+4)