collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: Needs tips/mentor for blacktail in the North Olympic Peninsula  (Read 3708 times)

Offline Pack and Boots

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Pilgrim
Needs tips/mentor for blacktail in the North Olympic Peninsula
« on: September 25, 2020, 08:48:07 PM »
I am new to the North Olympic Peninsula and I plan to hunt Blacktail General Season (modern firearm). I'm new to hunting but not new to the Olympic mountains and woods. I have many years of backpacking and hiking under my belt. Yes, I have my general tag.

I would greatly appreciate any tips or mentoring for hunting in GMUs 602, 603 or 607. GMU 621 is also in range for me but I see there is already a recent thread with tips for that GMU so I won't ask again.

I have read the Hunting Prospects for District 16, and I see that the blacktail population west of the Elwha is sparse. I noticed Deer Area 6020 but I have also read that it is mostly private land and there are firearm restrictions so I would not have a clue how to tackle that.

Online MADMAX

• Trade Count: (+15)
  • Old Salt
  • I like big bucks and I can not lie
Re: Needs tips/mentor for blacktail in the North Olympic Peninsula
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2020, 09:38:52 PM »
It’s been going downhill for about 10 years
A shadow of the former herd
You will see nice bucks
Usually in someone’s yard under their Apple trees
 :bash:

My best advise
Cover ground in national forests
Or walk gated roads on the tree farms ( if legal )
And don’t leave anything of value in your vehicle
 Plenty of Meth heads around
I Ain't Captain Walker.
I'm The Guy Who Carries Mr. Dead In His Pocket

What would life be without the thrill of the hunt ?

Offline opdinkslayer

• Non-Hunting Topics
  • Frontiersman
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2020, 09:41:16 PM »
Do a little google earth scouting & get out there the next couple weeks glassing clearcuts & checking out prospective areas. Going behind locked gates is always far more productive than driving open roads.