collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: Pathfinder's Colorado Drop Camp Elk Hunt  (Read 7118 times)

Offline Pathfinder101

• The Chosen YAR
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Explorer
  • Semper Primus
Pathfinder's Colorado Drop Camp Elk Hunt
« on: October 26, 2022, 01:04:19 PM »
FAIR WARNING:  This is going to be a long post.  I know a lot of people have considered booking a Drop Camp for elk, and I know Colorado gets discussed a lot due to availability of tags.  I am writing my story in detail, for those of you who are considering doing a hunt like this.
Before you criticize someone, you should walk a mile in their shoes.  That way, when you criticize them, you're a mile away and you have their shoes.

Offline Pathfinder101

• The Chosen YAR
  • Explorer
  • Semper Primus
Re: Pathfinder's Colorado Drop Camp Elk Hunt
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2022, 01:05:33 PM »
I realized in a panic that I had forgotten to log back on.  I am a teacher, had a classroom full of students and had forgotten to jump back on my computer and log into IDFG’s online tag system to “get in line” for my elk tag.  I was 10 minutes late.  As the bell rang, jogging my memory, I ran to my desktop and clicked back in.  Sequence number 24-jillion-and-something… Oh Crap…
For the next 8 hours I kept the screen open, watching tags disappear.  At 4 PM I had to leave for a staff meeting, so I dejectedly logged out of the system with 4,000 people still in front of me in line.  All the tags in any area I was familiar with were already gone anyway.