collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: Looking for a Turkey gun  (Read 11533 times)

Offline ST_C5

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Pilgrim
Looking for a Turkey gun
« on: February 24, 2010, 11:45:04 AM »
I need some advice: this will be my first turkey this year and i am looking to purchase a good turkey gun. I am not looking to go into debit but i do not want a cheap one also. SO i am willing to pay as much as 600.00 at this time. So any advice would be very helpful, i am new to hunting turkeys and really looking forward to my first hunt.
If you don't eat! Don't kill it!

Offline satchel3006

• Scout
Re: Looking for a Turkey gun
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2010, 12:14:09 PM »
cant go wrong with an 870

Offline jackelope

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+27)
  • Legend
  • Groups: jackelope
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2010, 12:20:12 PM »
pump?
auto? what do you prefer?
you can get a whole lot of turkey gun for $600.00
If I had $600 to burn I'd be forced to try out one of those 870 Tactical Turkey guns just cuzz they look cool.
 :)
:fire.:

" In today's instant gratification society, more and more pressure revolves around success and the measurement of one's prowess as a hunter by inches on a score chart or field photos produced on social media. Don't fall into the trap. Hunting is-and always will be- about the hunt, the adventure, the views, and time spent with close friends and family. " Ryan Hatfield

My posts, opinions and statements do not represent those of this forum

Offline Buckmark

• Washington For Wildlife
  • Trade Count: (+15)
  • Old Salt
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2010, 12:39:44 PM »
I would build myself a turkey gun, get a rem 870, moss 88 or 500 used for a good price, put on something like a blackhawk/knoxx recoil reducing 5 position adjustable stock (never know how many layers of clothes you might have on), improved sights, turkey specific choke and a nice sling.
Bet you would be under 600 and have a great shooting and unique turkey gun..