collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: Beaver Problem  (Read 4634 times)

Offline acnewman55

• HWY 2 Hermit
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Scout
Beaver Problem
« on: April 26, 2013, 09:45:39 AM »
There's a beaver on my parent's property that has built a damn in a series of drainage ditches that is preventing the property from draining properly.

We've torn up the damn but it doesn't take long for the beaver to rebuild.   :bash:

I would like the beaver gone, and am in the process of filling out an application for a permit to trap the animal, since I can't just shoot it.  But I have no trapping experience outside of rats in the Frat-house.

One of the questions asks which non-lethal methods have been used thus far...

Electric Fencing
Guard Animal
Other Fencing
Live Trap
Hazing
Other

The only two of these I would think applies to beavers would be live trapping and hazing?  The WDFW doesn't expect me to build fences to keep a beaver off my property does it?  :dunno:  The thing lives in the water.

Can you live-trap a beaver?  Seems like trapping a beaver underwater would drown it.

Hazing - I assume this just means constant harassment to get the beaver to move on.  Not sure if this would work or not, but I think breaking up the dam with a backhoe counts as hazing.

Also, I need to decide the method I'll use.  I assume the connibear trap would be the standard and most humane method?  Other methods would be padded foothold and non-strangling snare.  I need to know which is best for beaver so I can submit the application.  I'll figure out the logistics of procuring the traps if the permit is issued.

Thanks for the help all!

Offline 3nails

• WA State Trappers Association
  • Frontiersman
    • Jeff Hinkle
Re: Beaver Problem
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2013, 09:51:50 AM »
Save yourself some time and money and just hire one of the local nuisance trappers. They'll take care of everything involved.   :twocents:  I'd do it if it were closer to me.
Amadeo