collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: How are the berries ripening?  (Read 1979 times)

Offline Pete112288

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Sourdough
How are the berries ripening?
« on: August 17, 2018, 01:09:35 PM »
This is my first year really actually focusing on bear hunting. I got 1 while archery elk hunting in 2012 and it started a bug that I have been cultivating for a while.
this is my question. What are the primary berries in your area and how are they getting along?
What do you tend to notice ripening first and so on?
I am in SW WA, Clark and Skamania county area at about 1000-1500ft elevation.

Last year I found an area in some dense regrowth that is near a pond and some thick timber. It is covered in all sorts of berries. Mostly oregon grape and salal. But also has plenty of blackberries and blue elder berries.
I found that area just a little too late. The salal and oregon grape was done and all eaten up. That was early muzzleloader deer season. But the blue elderberries where EVERYWHERE and ripe. However They didnt seem to be getting much bear attention. Only 1 bush was torn down and berries eaten. However there was so much bear poo everywhere that was drying up that was full of salal and oregon grape seeds.

I have noticed the salmon berries ripe at the beginning of August in this area. Then just a few scattered wild raspberries but nothing in concentrations.
There are now a few salal, oregon grape and blackberries ripening. However nothing ripe is very concentrated. I will find 2 or 3 clusters of ripe berries for every 50 or 60 plants that still have green berries. And that may even be a little generous.
So far I have found zero fresh sign and have none on the cameras on any of the scattered berries, but I am hoping over the next few weeks that picks up.

Offline yakimanoob

• Non-Hunting Topics
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Sourdough
Re: How are the berries ripening?
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2018, 01:28:07 PM »