collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: First time, any tips?  (Read 12472 times)

Offline ljsommer

• Political & Covid-19 Topics
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Longhunter
  • New hunter, hard worker.
  • Groups: NRA
First time, any tips?
« on: March 21, 2019, 08:40:48 PM »
I am a first time turkey hunter looking for whatever your number one tip is, if you could only give one piece of advice?

Offline Fl0und3rz

• Forum Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (+7)
  • Legend
Re: First time, any tips?
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2019, 08:45:06 PM »
As a noob, I got nothing. Just tagging along.

Offline Wetwoodshunter

• Non-Hunting Topics
  • Trade Count: (+8)
  • Sourdough
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2019, 08:51:07 PM »
Be out well before light with a gobbler, they respond from in the trees a lot. Once you locate them move in to 100 ish yards from where you think they are and set up. I have called them off the trees to me with hen calls and had them land 20 yards in front of me.

Good luck, its addicting.

Offline TheStovePipeKid

• They call me MISTER KID!
  • Business Sponsor
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Longhunter
  • I. Kill. Turkey.
    • TheStovePipeKid
  • Groups: NWTF Annual Member, NRA Extended Pay Lifetime Member
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2019, 08:51:39 PM »
I do believe the time honored advice amongst the skilled and educated, of who I do not yet espouse myself, would be to pattern your shotgun.
I laugh in the face of Danger. Ha ha ha Danger Face!

Offline Wetwoodshunter

• Non-Hunting Topics
  • Trade Count: (+8)
  • Sourdough
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2019, 08:58:02 PM »
So, my first time I was with a buddy from Texas who hunted a lot of turkey. He called a bird in and I dropped it. I ran up to it and picked it up by the head like people do ducks. It kicked the heck out of me.

The pro tactic is run up then lightly stand on their neck.

Offline kevinlisa06

• Non-Hunting Topics
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Sourdough
« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2019, 09:43:56 PM »