collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: New to Elk hunting  (Read 1933 times)

Offline FreezerFiller

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Pilgrim
    • Ethan Grice
New to Elk hunting
« on: September 27, 2021, 02:40:51 PM »
I am a college student over on the east side here, and this is my first time looking into going elk hunting. It is overwhelming looking at the amount of private land out there when trying to find a spot to go hunt for elk. I have zero expectations going into the season aside from learning as much as I can but figured I'd start the learning here.

Does anyone have any tips for a new modern firearm elk hunter like myself? General areas? Calls or no calls? Sit and glass, or walk and stalk?

Any advice is appreciated, thank you!

Offline Bendejo

• Tracker
Re: New to Elk hunting
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2021, 03:05:06 PM »
Don't mind me, I'll just sit and listen here too. New to elk hunting as well

Sent from my Pixel 4 using Tapatalk

Offline Stein

• Non-Hunting Topics
  • Trade Count: (+11)
  • Explorer
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2021, 03:09:22 PM »
You won't need calls.

Check WDFW's site for harvest stats and the regs to see what units have what seasons and how far you are willing to drive.  Scout and hunt, public or nock on doors. WDFW has some sites you can also check, some require a reservation, some require written permission and some are first come, first serve.

Offline FreezerFiller

• Pilgrim
    • Ethan Grice
« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2021, 03:18:52 PM »
You won't need calls.

Check WDFW's site for harvest stats and the regs to see what units have what seasons and how far you are willing to drive.  Scout and hunt, public or nock on doors. WDFW has some sites you can also check, some require a reservation, some require written permission and some are first come, first serve.