collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: Tree stand placement  (Read 950 times)

Offline Odell

• Washington For Wildlife
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Longhunter
  • the deuce is loose
Tree stand placement
« on: July 26, 2022, 11:11:38 AM »
I've got a local spot that I want to try hunting from a tree stand this archery season. I am a complete novice at tree stands, wonder if anyone had feedback on placement for me...

Imagine a mostly flat wheat field. On the edge of the field the hill drops away quick and steep and is heavily timbered. The deer move along the flat edge of the field, and have a very solid couple trails about 10-15 yards downhill from the edge. There is no rhyme or pattern I can pick up as to when they walk the flat edge or when they are on the trail. Often 10-15 will come through and there will be deer on all three at the same time. They also love to bed just downhill from the edge, all throughout the area.

Does the tree stand go on a tree as close to the edge as possible so I am above the deer on the flat and really high above the lower trails?
Does it go very close to the lower trails so I'm barely above the flat but directly above the trails

Does it go further downhill, more level with the lower trails but still not too far below the top flat?

Lots of trees to choose from, what is your strategy?

Also the wind often comes from the north N/W here and the further I go down the hill, the worst the wind direction might be for me. On a south wind it would be perfect

What else should i be thinking about?

Thanks!
what in the wild wild world of sports???

Offline buckfvr

• Trade Count: (+7)
  • Frontiersman
Re: Tree stand placement
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2022, 11:35:40 AM »