collapse

Advertisement

Author Topic: GMU 418 - New to Washington  (Read 4198 times)

Offline eddya

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Pilgrim
    • https://www.facebook.com/ed.appleberry
  • Groups: NRA
GMU 418 - New to Washington
« on: September 07, 2017, 07:50:14 PM »
Hey guys! I've been lurking these forums for the past 8 months.  Always lots of great information here.  A couple of buddies and I are planning an over night hunting trip in early October.  We are all novices at big game, at least in this part of the country.  And I think I'm the only one that's hunted deer.  We are looking at GMU 418, for a number of different reasons.  I've been fortunate in my life, to have family throughout the mid-west, with lots of acreage, where I've always done my hunting (small game, and deer a few times).  What I am struggling with, is the process of gaining access.  As I said, I have little experience gaining access to lands through the DFW, private land owners, or the timber companies.  I am looking for information on GMU 418, as well as the best way (easiest way in this case) to find a spot and get access.  As I said, we are mostly novice  hunters and on our first trip, we don't expect to bag much, or anything, but would like to familiarize ourselves with the terrain, climate, weather, and put some of the scouting techniques we have learned to the test.  We would be happy with nothing more than a safe camping trip our first time out.  If we see anything, that would be a bonus.  As I said, any information on GMU 418, and the process of figuring out where to camp at, to allow hiking out to hunt, and the process of getting access is the kind of information I'm looking for.  I don't want you to think I haven't done my homework, and that I'm just looking for easy answers.  I really have read, and studied this for 8 months.  I've read books, been through the wdfw website a thousand times..read the pamphlets, and I've been on these forums daily almost.  I'm just not quite seeing the ans